Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BECOME A POW!er SEARCHER: Search 11 - Databases vs. Google

Database Searching

TASK

1. Choose one of the general topics listed below for your search.
2. List several keywords.
3. Choose one of the databases options then conduct a search in each database. You can iterate your search until you're satisfied with the results.

4. Do the same search using Google. You can iterate your search until you're satisfied with the results.
5. Answer these questions:
    . Evaluate the quantity and type of results you get and their relevancy to your topic.
    . How user-friendly is each tool? 
    . Which tool gave you better results?

6. Narrow the general topic to a specific research question you would like to answer. You don't have to answer it.
7. Evaluate your search experience. What would you do differently next time? What is each database good for?


SELECT A SET OF DATABASES TO SEARCH
A. Any database among: 
EBSCO family, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Global Issues in Context, Classroom Videos


B. Google


GENERAL TOPICS
1. The Zimbardo prison experiment or the Milgram experiment in psychology

2. Third culture kids

3. Genetically modified food

4. The state of freshwater in the world

5. Social networking and teenagers

6. Internet addiction

 

 

Google vs. Databases

Same as the exercise above, answer the questions below using a database of your choice and Google. Which seems the better tool? Why?

1. How does nutrition affect children's cognitive development?

2. What do we know about Internet addiction?

3. Find out if a child of appropriate age should get the measles/mumps/rubella vaccine.
      (Taken from Sheila Webberin Teaching Web Searching Skills by Gregg R. Notess)

4. What happens to old electronics such as computers and mobile phones once they're discarded?

5. What were the consequences of the “War Guilt Clause” for Germany? 

6. Verify the veracity of this statement: Cartoons for children are more violent than films for adults.