Skip to main content

HOME: Math | Science IA

WELCOME TO THE HUB! CLICK ON THE BANNER ABOVE TO RETURN TO THE HOME PAGE

Intro

Below are a few selected resources to help you access reliable information for your Math IA. A lot of them are full text and free.
Don't forget the advanced search techniques we saw in class and to explore the other research tools found on this web site.

To add a resource on this page, please see Mr. Chioini.

Search engines

Scholar gives you access to scholarly articles, theses, research, etc. 
NOTE: 1) Not all articles are full text, 2) The number of times an article is cited is a sign of its importance in the field, 3) Be familiar with the "About" page
 

 

"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages." It's a good start!
 


 

Wolfram|Alpha aims "to collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything." The best math tool out there!

Open databases and portals

"Open access to 1,027,392 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics."


 

"DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals."

 


 

"WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals." You can restrict your search to fulltext articles only.

 


 

MathWorld "is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica."

Subscription databases

It's an online library of over 85000 educational ebooks covering every curriculum subjects.

 



Through more than a dozen databases EBSCOhost gives you access to over 800 fulltext magazine and journal articles covering a wide range of subjects.