Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HOME: Native American Nations

WELCOME TO THE HUB! CLICK ON THE BANNER ABOVE TO RETURN TO THE HOME PAGE

Map

      NATIVE AMERICAN NATIONS

Assignment

PRESENTATION GUIDELINES 

You will create a Google presentation (share with your teacher) that details specific aspects of your Native American nation (Limit of 15 slides!!) 

Click here to access the assignment and the assessment rubric.

Gallery

Algonquins

Anasazi

Apache

Cherokees

Incas

Iroquois

Mayans

Mississippians

Navajos

Olmecs

Pueblos

Sioux

Resources

There is a tremendous amount of information about Native American nations online. Be smart, thorough and selective. 
 

GOOGLE
Of course, you will probably Google the name of your nation. That's fine as long as you double and triple check the information you find. Expect a lot of links to non-academic works such as student projects and information on modern life. Use strong keywords, and advanced search techniques to narrow your searches and to maximise the number of good hits. Use the RESEARCH tab at the top of this page to review some of the skills to good researching such as how to use "Boolean Logic" and to know more "About Google". 
 

DATABASES AND DIGITAL LIBRARIES
Databases will provide reliable information on your topic. The tabs "Databases" and "Digital libraries" in this box will give you a sample of excellent resources. Be selective, use your judgment and trust yourself... You will find all the login credentials (passwords) on the Databases Login Sheet for remote access.

To find out more about searching, please approach your teacher or Mr. Chioini who will be happy to guide you through the whole process.

 

You can access all our Databases through the short cut on the main page. I've selected a few that I know will be useful for this project. Feel free to explore others if you think they'll be helpful.

Our databases are password-protected. At school you may not need a password but you will if you try to connect remotely. You will find all the login credentials (passwords) on the Databases Login Sheet.


MODERN WORLD HISTORY

 

CLASSROOM VIDEOS



MID-HIGH SCHOOL EBOOKS COLLECTION


 

Your assignment leads well to the use of primary sources in the form of pictures and documents such as letters, treatises, etc. It's up to you to decide if you think you need such historical information and how it can be used to add value to your work.

One way to find primary sources is to search Google. But it may become a bit frustrating. The library has a fairly extensive page that lists several digital libraries here. From that list, I've selected a few that I think may be useful.

Note that not all tribes and nations will be covered in each library, and that some may be a bit challenging or too detailed for your particular needs.
 

INTERNET ARCHIVE

WORLD DIGITAL LIBRARY

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS

DIGITAL PUBLIC LIBRARY (DPLA)